Shortlist announced for Active Lancashire Awards 2023

Active Lancashire have announced the shortlist for the Active Lancashire Awards, a ceremony that celebrates achievements in sport and physical activity across the county.

Many of the finalists were automatically shortlisted after previously winning awards at local district sports events, including from the recent Active Wyre Awards, Blackpool Active Lives Community Awards and Fylde Community Active Awards. Others entered the Active Lancashire Awards directly. Winners have been decided and will be announced at an award ceremony at Ewood Park, Blackburn, on 17th November. Tickets for the event are on sale now.


Club of the Year

  • Delph Sailing Club
  • Blackpool Polar Bears
  • Dragons Kick Boxing Club
  • Lions Running Community
  • Across The Boards Theatre School
  • Accrington Wildcats Rugby Club
  • MCR Morecambe Community Runners
  • Preston Pirates BMX Club
  • CrossTraining Clitheroe
  • Jump UK
  • Skelmersdale Running Club
  • Fleetwood Gym Amateur Boxing Club

Coach of the Year

  • Jasmine (Jazz)
  • Katie Stainsby
  • Steven Wong
  • Paul Brown
  • Bob and Dianne Russell
  • Michael Sinkinson
  • Stuart Nevin
  • Jenni Clough
  • Sharron Bolton
  • Amanda Ainsworth
  • Leanne Leigh
  • Sean McGann

Activating Communities

  • Michelle Searby
  • Canalside Activity Centre
  • Tia’s Crown
  • Shannon Pack
  • Burnley Cricket League Ejaz Hussain
  • Noor Miah
  • Ashley Roach
  • Fairhaven Bowling Club
  • Howard Robinson
  • Great Harwood Bowling Club
  • Andrew Barnes
  • Helen Green
  • The JJ Effect
  • CrossTraining Clitheroe
  • Lostock Hall Juniors Football Club
  • Divine days community arts
  • Julie Brooks

Health and Wellbeing Award

  • Z’s defence academy
  • HALF Fish Training & HQ
  • Blackpool Senior Seasiders Walking Football
  • Bea Foster
  • Emma Trafford
  • Ella Grace
  • Clifton Homecare
  • 1st Call Accrington
  • Sarah Cheyette
  • Phoenix Riding for Disabled group
  • Graham sims / Team Kickabout CIC
  • Let's Live Life
  • Souta Van Wick
  • Leyland Trucks
  • Craig Baxter
  • Fleetwood Town Community Trust

Jimmy Armfield Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Yaqoob Hussain MBE
  • Frank Kennedy
  • Stuart Nicolson
  • Christine Pollitt
  • Sami Smithson
  • Nigel Laycock

Primary School of the Year 

  • Brook House Primary School
  • Westcliff Primary Academy
  • Cherry Fold Community Primary School
  • Ribby With Wrea Endowed CE Primary School
  • Great Harwood St John’s Primary School
  • Trumacar Nursery & Community Primary School
  • St Andrew's CE Primary School
  • Chaucer Primary School

Secondary School of the Year 

  • Park Community Academy
  • Lytham St Annes High School
  • Accrington Academy
  • St Aidans

Volunteer of the Year 

  • Asma Shabir
  • Daniel Pack
  • Shannon Pack
  • Awais Javid (AJ)
  • Darren Marsden
  • Sylvia Lancaster
  • Fred Stewart
  • Stephen Perry
  • Lily McKeown
  • Mary Mcaulay
  • Kelly Stead

Young Achiever of the Year

  • Will Dyson
  • Henry Cardwell
  • Jake Pasquill
  • Oliwia Kaczmarek
  • Harry Obrien
  • Holly Cross
  • James Kemp
  • Tobias Ellis
  • James Clitheroe
  • Toby Gilmore
  • Grace Lackie
  • Erin Devine

Active Partnerships
Lancashire and South Cumbria Health and Care Partnership
Funded by UK Government Levelling Up