Shortlist announced for Active Lancashire Awards 2022

Active Lancashire have announced the shortlist for the Active Lancashire Awards, a ceremony that celebrates achievements in sport and physical activity across the county.

Many of the finalists were automatically shortlisted after previously winning awards at local district sports events, including from the recent Preston Sports Awards, Blackpool Active Lives Community Awards and Rossendale Big Connect Club Awards. Others entered the Active Lancashire Awards directly.

The shortlist was discussed by a judging panel consisted of Active Lancashire colleagues, including Chief Executive Adrian Leather and board member Zuleikha Chikh, alongside selection of event sponsors.

These included representatives from Calico, Interfloor, The Cardboard Box Company, Progress Housing Group and Business Health Matters, who are all sponsoring categories at the awards. A guest from Youth Sport Trust was also invited for their knowledge of working with schools and young people.

Winners have been decided and will be announced at an award ceremony at Ewood Park, Blackburn, on 18th November. Tickets for the event will go on sale soon.

Lynn Bamber, Head of Marketing at Interfloor, both the headline sponsor of the event and sponsor of the Young Achiever category, took part in the judging. She said: “There has been a lot of worthy candidates. As a large local employer, it’s important that our colleagues and their families have access to activities that can improve both their physical and mental health. Judging has highlighted just how much people and groups put into their communities to help residents be active, healthy and happy, and the awards will showcase their good work.”

In addition to the current shortlist, many of the winners from the upcoming sports awards in Hyndburn and South Ribble will be automatically be shortlisted.

Tickets for the event will go on sale within the week at


Active Workplace of the Year sponsored by Business Health Matters

Sporting NRG (Blackburn)
Blackpool Coastal Housing (Blackpool)
UCLan (Preston)
Land Registry Fylde Office (Fylde)
Leyland Trucks (South Ribble)

Club of the Year

LSSA Fishmoor Watersports (Blackburn)
Blackpool Netball Club (Blackpool)
Pendle Forest Orienteers (Burnley)
Chorley Infernos (Chorley)
Freckleton and Warton Running Club (Fylde)
Accrington Swimming Club (Hyndburn)
Cockerham Juniors FC (Lancaster)
West Craven Warriors (Pendle)
Typhoons RUFC (Preston)
Longridge Netball Club (Ribble Valley)
Casked Runners (Rossendale)
Lostock Hall JFC (South Ribble)
St Chads Tennis Club (Wyre)

Coach of the Year

David Grierson (Blackburn)
Ross Goodwin (Blackpool)
Andy Ellis (Burnley)
Jack Durcan (Chorley)
Ana Blackburn (Fylde)
Jon Gedling (Hyndburn)
Stuart Nevin (Lancaster)
Steve Clamp (Pendle)
Jayne Billington (Preston)
Steve Duxberry (Rossendale)
Gillian Rankin (South Ribble)
Christopher Morton (Wyre)

Contribution to Active Communities (Group) sponsored by Progress Housing Group

Z’s Defence Academy (Blackburn)
Blackpool Football Therapy (Blackpool)
Karly’s Angels (Burnley)
AFC Fylde Community Foundation (Fylde)
Baxenden Running Bugs (Hyndburn)
Morecambe Community Runners (Lancaster)
Philip Wright Crown Green Bowling Club (Pendle)
Community Network and Outreach Service (Ribble Valley)
Community Network and Outreach Service (South Ribble)
Together We Can Do (Wyre)

Contribution to Active Communities (Individual) sponsored by Challenge Through Sport Initiative

Stuart Parker + Peter Sculpher (Blackburn)
Anthony Barrot (Blackpool)
Ted Pemberton (Burnley)
Sheila McCully (Chorley)
Amanda Jurin (Fylde)
Sarah Charmer (Hyndburn)
Stuart Nevin (Lancaster)
Louise Violet (South Ribble)
Paul Cotterill (West Lancashire)
Julie Brooks (Wyre)

Health and Wellbeing Award sponsored by Calico and Spark

The Billy Project CIC (Blackburn)
Jobs Friends & Houses Recovery Organisation (Blackpool)
Justine Taylor (Burnley)
Victoria Danson (Chorley)
Andrew Noble (Fylde)
Recovery Runners (Hyndburn)
Rose Simpson (Lancaster)
Energybodi (Rossendale)
Bounce Back Netball (South Ribble)
Craig Baxter (West Lancashire)
Louise Rothwell (Wyre)

Jimmy Armfield Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by the Cardboard Box Company

Linda Crook (Blackburn)
Gabrielle Towell (Blackpool)
Chris Keene (Burnley)
Gerry Gregoire (Fylde)
John Brindle (Hyndburn)
Sue Penrith (Preston)
Steve Ramsbottom (Rossendale)
Harry Glynn (South Ribble)
Joe Nelson (West Lancashire)

Primary School of the Year

Avondale Primary School (Blackburn)
Holy Family (Blackpool)
Padiham Primary School (Burnley)
St Josephs Withnell Primary School (Chorley)
Clifton Primary School (Fylde)
Baxenden St Johns (Hyndburn)
Trumacar Nursery and Community Primary School (Lancaster)
St Andrew’s CE Primary School (Preston)
Lostock Hall Community Primary School (South Ribble)
Breck Primary School (Wyre)

Secondary School of the Year

Park Community Academy (Blackpool)
Coal Clough Academy (Burnley)
St Michaels CE Academy (Chorley)
Lytham St Annes High School (Fylde)
Mount Carmel RC High School (Hyndburn)
Christ The King Catholic High School (Preston)
Lostock Hall Academy (South Ribble)
Garstang Community Academy (Wyre)

Uniting Lancashire Award

Grace Moss (Blackburn)
Together We Can Do (Blackpool)
Padiham Library Walks (Burnley)
Lancashire TAAG (Chorley)
Together We Can Do (Fylde)
KTZ Dance (Hyndburn)
Sophie Wilding (South Ribble)

Volunteer of the Year

Zohra Sarfraz (Blackburn)
Jenny Morris (Blackpool)
Jacob Scot (Blackpool)
John Buchanan (Burnley)
Simon Brewer (Chorley)
Rose Simpson (Lancaster)
Sue Sinclair (Fylde)
Shane Gregson (Hyndburn)
David Clamp (Pendle)
Sophie Tack (Preston)
Olivia Lomax (Rossendale)
Keith Winder (South Ribble)
Faye Allerton (South Ribble)
Susan Ashton (Wyre)

Young Achiever of the Year sponsored by Interfloor

Grace Moss (Blackburn)
Owen Boyes (Blackpool)
Liberty Heap (Burnley)
Adnan Miakhel (Chorley)
Amelia Doran (Fylde)
Charlie Chadwick (Hyndburn)
Charlotte Holmes (Pendle)
Nathan Holmes (Preston)
Haris Bosworth-Hussein (Ribble Valley)
Imogen Webster (Rossendale)
Hannah Snape (South Ribble)
Honey Harrison (Wyre)

Active Partnerships
Lancashire and South Cumbria Health and Care Partnership
Funded by UK Government Levelling Up