Our Board

The membership of the Active Lancashire Board reflects the communities partner organisations and networks that support sport and physical activity. Our strategic board directs and supports Active Lancashire in its work with key agencies to achieve our organisation's goals. The Board undertakes an annual review of its role and membership. Board member vacancies are advertised externally if for board members. The chair of the board is appointed by one board from our board membership of up to 12 individuals.  

Current Board Members


  • Brian Cookson OBE (Chair), Independent Board Member
  • Amanda Parker, Independent Board Member
  • Andrea Smith, Lancashire County Council
  • Chris Standish, Regenda 
  • Geoff Bean, Independent Board Member 
  • Julie Bell, Lancashire County Council
  • Robin Richardson, University of Central Lancashire
  • Roger Davies, Independent Board Member
  • Ruth Lowry, Lancashire County Council 
  • Simon Burnett, West Lancashire Borough Council

Observing members

  • Justine Bromeley (Sport England) Local Government Lead 
  • Adrian Leather (Chief Executive), Active Lancashire

Audit & Finance Committee

Amanda Parker
Andrea Smith
Geoff Bean
Robin Richardson 
Ruth Lowry

HR & Remuneration Committee

Julie Bell (Chair)
Brian Cookson
Chris Standish

Board Member Representatives on the ESIF Steering Group

Chris Standish 

Lotto Sport
European Union
Active Partnerships